fbpx

If you like movies, you’ll LOVE this

London’s largest outdoor screen returns for the ultimate summer film destination. And hello to Jason Isaacs.

The Summer of 2018 is the gift that keeps on giving. Glorious weather, a World Cup that didn’t embarrass and some pretty darn brilliant Pride events up and down the country.

But hey, don’t think the fun has stopped. Readers, we bring you the Film4 Summer Screen at Somerset House.

For non-Londoners, Somerset House is set back from the Strand in a massive courtyard surrounded by stunning buildings. Check out the pic at the top of this piece – dreamy, eh.

Take a look at this video of highlights from recent years.

This year’s stellar selection of films are presented in full surround sound and accompanied by DJ sets, exclusive onstage introductions from directors, cast and surprise special guests. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry…hell, you’ll even jump out of your skin as you cheer along with 2,000 other film fans under the stars.

Here’s a preview, narrated by a woman with a really silky voice.

Take a look at what this lot have to say:

“Somerset House is the place to see movies under the stars” Time Out

“The Godfather of outdoor cinema” Tatler

“It’s not summer in the capital without Film4 Summer Screen” Big Issue

“The dream of how watching movies is meant to be” Richard Curtis

Just cast your peepers over this ace selection of cinematographic fabulousness:

Sat 11 Aug: Labyrinth & The Wizard Of Oz (Double Bill)

Sun 12 Aug: Rebecca

Mon 13 Aug: Being John Malkovich

Tue 14 Aug : 20 Feet From Stardom

Wed 15 Aug: Carol

Thu 16 Aug: Blue Velvet (we’re going to this one. If you see us, say hi)

Friday 17 Aug: The Bride of Frankenstein &Beauty & The Beast (La belle et la bête)

Sat 18 Aug: Total Recall & A Nightmare On Elm Street (Double Bill)

Sun 19 Aug: Sleeping Beauty

Tue 21 Aug: Selma

Wed 22 Aug: American Animals (Closing Night Premiere)

Visit somersethouse.org.uk for more info and to book.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *