Read time:1 minute, 28 seconds


Last night, November 3, saw the hosting of the sixth annual Stonewall Awards at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.

The awards night which celebrates the contributions made by individuals and organisations to the lives of lesbian, gay, and bisexual people in the UK, had a selection of judges including Gok Wan, John Partridge, Maureen Chadwick, Hope Powell CBE and Eddie Mair.

The night was hosted by comedian Stephen K Amos and Stonewall chief executive, Ben Summerskill.

Award winners included:

The hero of the year award was won by Roger Crouch, who lost his son after he committed suicide due to homophobic bullying, he dedicated his award to people whose lives had been “cut short by bullying.”

Sportsperson of the year was awarded to Swedish footballer Anton Hysen, who is also the world’s only openly gay professional footballer.

The Bigot of the year award went to Daily Mail columnist Melanie Phillips.  Infamous for her bigoted views, this year she disgraced herself when she wrote that Britain is in the grip of a ‘Government – backed drive to promote the gay adenda’ and claiming that gay people ‘risk becoming McCarthyites’.

This award is reserved for an individual who has gone out of their way to harm, hurt or snub lesbian, gay and bisexual people.

The Stonewall awards were attended by over 400 guests with a strong celebrity showing including Gok Wan, Charlie Condou Harry Derbridge, Russell Tovey, Louis Spence, Sarah Waters and Val McDermid.

Chief executive of Stonewall, Ben Summerskill said: “The Stonewall Awards celebrate those who have made a positive impact on gay people’s lives, and also provide a platform to showcase inspirational lesbian, gay and bisexual role models.”

Visit Stonewall’s website to see more details from the night.

About the author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Latest articles