Read time:1 minute, 12 seconds

Past winners include Sir Ian McKellen, Alan Carr and HRH Prince William.

The countdown to the 2018 NatWest British LGBT Awards started today with the call for public nominations ahead of next year’s glitzy ceremony.

The red-carpet highlight of the LGBT+ calendar will return to London in May to celebrate the individuals and organisations working to advance the rights of LGBT+ communities.

The awards, which are held annually, acknowledge milestones in media, celebrity and grassroots activism.

Previous award winners have included comedian Alan Carr, broadcaster Clare Balding and trans rights activist Caitlyn Jenner. Straight ally gongs have gone to Queen-legend Sir Brian May, Kylie Minogue, HRH Prince William and Harry Potter star Daniel Radcliffe.

Now it’s over to you to nominate for your favourite LGBT+ celebrities, businesses, charities and personalities. There are plenty of categories to have your say in, including Celebrity Of The Year, Celebrity Straight Ally Of The Year, Media Moment Of The Year, Company Of The Year and Brand Of The Year.

British LGBT Awards co-founder, Sarah Garrett MBE, told us:

“Every year, these awards just get bigger and better. Last year we had a record number of nominations and this year, we want to get an even wider range. People can nominate by visiting the British LGBT Awards website at between now and 29 November 2017.”

So what are you waiting for? Make your nominations now at


About the author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Latest articles