Read time:2 minute, 30 seconds

Sarah_GarrettSarah Garrett, founder of g3 and co-managing director of Square Peg Media, has today been shortlisted as Journalist of the Year at the prestigious Stonewall Awards.

The awards, now in their seventh year, celebrate those who have made a positive impact on the lives of lesbian, gay and bisexual people in Britain in the last 12 months.

Sarah will facing stiff competition in the Journalist of the Year category where she is up against Hugo Rifkind from The Times, the Independent columnist Owen Jones,  Guardian Weekend’s Lucy Mangan and Time Out’s Paul Burston.

The winner of the award will be decided by a panel of celebrity judges including broadcaster Alice Arnold, Channel 4 News Culture Editor Matthew Cain, former England rugby star Ben Cohen, author Val McDermid and UK Black Pride Managing Director Phyll Opoku-Gyimah.

Others high profile names on the shortlist include Hip hop star Frank Ocean and comedian and broadcaster Sue Perkins who are nominated for Entertainer of the Year, while Team GB athletes Claire Harvey, Carl Hester and Lee Pearson make the Sports Awards shortlist.

Stonewall supporters across Britain are currently voting for three other categories – ‘Stonewall Community Group,’ (supported by Square Peg Media) ‘Hero of the Year’ (supported by PwC) and ‘Bigot of the Year’. ‘Hero of the Year’ nominees include Jessie J for proudly reaffirming time and again that she is bisexual.

Ben Summerskill, Stonewall Chief Executive, said: ‘This year’s Stonewall Award nominees include Olympic and Paralympic heroes, regional, national and industry publications, popular TV shows and popular lesbian, gay, bisexual and straight entertainers. The diversity of those nominated for an award demonstrates how gay equality is firmly embedded in 21st-century British life. That’s a real cause for celebration.’

The Stonewall Awards ceremony takes place on Thursday 1 November at the V&A in London. Tickets are £155 plus VAT. To book your ticket visit or call 020 7593 1875.

The full shortlists:

Broadcast of the Year – supported by London Women’s Clinic

  • · A Civil Arrangement (BBC4)
  • · Britain’s Got Talent (ITV1)
  • · Long Lost Family (ITV1)
  • · One Born Every Minute (C4)
  • · All Star Mr & Mrs (ITV1)

Entertainer of the Year

  • · Evan Rachel Wood
  • · Frank Ocean
  • · Marcus Collins
  • · Sue Perkins
  • · Tom Wilkinson (The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel)

Journalist of the Year

  • · Hugo Rifkind (The Times)
  • · Owen Jones (The Independent)
  • · Paul Burston (Time Out)
  • · Sarah Garrett (g3 Magazine)
  • · Lucy Mangan (The Guardian)

Politician of the Year

  • · Iain Stewart MP
  • · Lynne Featherstone MP & Lord Henley
  • · Cllr Nick Forbes
  • · Nicola Sturgeon MSP
  • · Ruth Davidson MSP

Publication of the Year

  • · Attitude
  • · DC Comics
  • · Evening Standard
  • · Gay Star News
  • · Tatler

Sports Award of the Year – supported by Barclays

  • · Claire Harvey
  • · Carl Hester
  • · Lee Pearson CBE
  • · Outdoor Lads
  • · Rugby Football League

Writer of the Year – Supported by Coutts

  • · Jackie Kay (Reality, Reality)
  • · Jeanette Winterson (Why Be Happy When You Could be Normal?)
  • · Madeline Miller (The Song of Achilles)
  • · Patrick Gale (A Perfectly Good Man)
  • · V G Lee (Always You, Edina)

About the author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Latest articles